Notices
GT3/GT2 Performance and Track Discussion on the Porsche GT3 and GT2

MPSCs on the street

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-24-2011, 07:53 PM
rja
rja is a glorious beacon of lightrja is a glorious beacon of lightrja is a glorious beacon of lightrja is a glorious beacon of lightrja is a glorious beacon of light
MPSCs on the street

I've read all the "horror" stories regarding MPSC's in the rain. I've also seen conflicting comments. I'll wait to form my own opinion.

With the MPSC being the only 19" option for the RS, I am curious about how well they perform on the street (the RS will be a DD for me). Specifically, is this a tire that you need to get a lot of heat into before it starts working? In other words, is it stupid to run MPSCs on the street? I have no experience with them. I had the Corsas when you could get them and am a fan.

Someone also recently told me that Michelin changed the compound recently to make the MPSC more street-able. Can anybody corroborate this? I'm trying to decide if I want to sell the 19s on my RS when it arrives and replace w/ 18s for more tire options.

Thanks,

Old 09-24-2011, 08:49 PM
Richie18 is infamous around these parts
I've put 3K miles on MPSC and they handle just fine for spirited street driving. Granted they are overkill in performance and price, but they came with the car (2010 GT3).

I'll be replacing with Michelin Super Sports. From what i've heard from others they are more comfortable for street driving, in addition to all the other reasons to choose the SS over the MPSC for street driving (wet performance, wear rating, price, etc).

Old 09-24-2011, 09:01 PM
Misanors4 has a brilliant futureMisanors4 has a brilliant futureMisanors4 has a brilliant futureMisanors4 has a brilliant futureMisanors4 has a brilliant futureMisanors4 has a brilliant futureMisanors4 has a brilliant futureMisanors4 has a brilliant futureMisanors4 has a brilliant futureMisanors4 has a brilliant futureMisanors4 has a brilliant future