Notices
GT3/GT2 Performance and Track Discussion on the Porsche GT3 and GT2

PCCB's need to be replaced from tracking. Options?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-10-2015, 06:40 AM
longboarder Is a GOD !longboarder Is a GOD !longboarder Is a GOD !longboarder Is a GOD !longboarder Is a GOD !longboarder Is a GOD !longboarder Is a GOD !longboarder Is a GOD !longboarder Is a GOD !longboarder Is a GOD !longboarder Is a GOD !
PCCB's need to be replaced from tracking. Options?

Has an awesome day yesterday at the Thermal Club. Had the entire track to myself literally. GMG took 4 of us there and we were it...no one else. Car is a 997.2 TTS with suspension setup from GMG and bolt on engine mods. Car is 3,500 lbs so heavier than the gt2/gt3 and makes 700+ hp so I need more stopping power than average.

I went to the event with new stock pads and a recent brake flush. I do this after every track event. Brakes on the stock pads and fluid have been fine for me I'm no pro. I also have GT2 brake ducting on the fronts. Rear rotors before the event were pretty low but looked fine for maybe a couple more track days.

Anyway during my 4th session my pedal became soft so I slowed it down and thank God...next corner brake pedal hit the floor. No more brakes at all. Thankfully I was the only one on the track so I could cruise a couple laps at slower speed to cool them off. Even when I got to the pits the pedal was on the floor.

Beyond the obvious fluid which boiled, the rear calipers which are standard Porsche yellow actually turned dark burnt orange. Pads completely wore out PSM was off for this session but earlier it was on and contributed to significant rear pad wear earlier. My rear rotors are also pretty much done. Now I need to do something.

Question for the occasional track guys - so my options are to buy new rear rotors but change to much better pads and fluid. For those of you tracking PCCB's what would you recommend?