Panamera The 4-dour coupe by Porsche
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Decisions, decisions...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-09-2011, 03:26 PM
umwolverine is infamous around these partsumwolverine is infamous around these parts
Decisions, decisions...

I'm new to the Panamera Board, and I've been researching a lot of great information for a while here. Your thoughts and opinions have been very helpful in narrowing my options. I'm still having a heck of a time figuring out how I would configure my car.

I'm going to be moving from my current M5 to either the new F10 M5 or a Panamera. I'm leaning towards the Panamera because I think it is/will be the better driver's car. (I'm a PCA Instructor and will be racing this season). The new M5 is going to have close to 600 HP, but it's going to be built on a heavy (4,300 lbs to start) chassis and I think it's going to be close to 4,500 lbs. Because of this, I don't think it will have the responsiveness of the Panamera.

I looked at the 6 cyl, and it's probably the best handling car in the line, but I need a bit more power. I'm looking at the 4S because I would like to drive the car in the winter without having to change the setup. I would get the 19" wheels with all-season tires and leave it like that for the whole year. After 5 winters in the M5, I just don't like the huge handling change that comes with switching from summer to winter tires, and I'd rather just dial-in the all-season handling.

I've pretty much decided on the air suspension. Based on the recommendations I've seen here, and people I've spoken with, it is definitely worth the price. What I'm not sure about are the Sports Chrono and most of all, the $5K PDCC. What does the Sports Chrono give you that you can't get with the air/PDCC besides a remapped throttle position, launch control, and a chronograph?