Anyone tracking their new 997?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-20-2008, 08:26 AM
Looney2N is infamous around these parts
Anyone tracking their new 997?

Anyone esle taking their new car to the track??

Old 07-22-2008, 01:02 PM
raiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to behold
All I can think about is how to kill time between track dates

Old 07-22-2008, 01:09 PM
Originally Posted by raiyu
All I can think about is how to kill time between track dates
Good hear that....................I am fairly new to the track (DE) arena, but looks like I am progressing quickly.

Biggest concern I have is running at tracks with lots of walls.

Wow, running TT must be a gas............I would guess you have a track setup for wheels and tires. May I ask, "What is your track setup tires?"

Have narrowed mine down to Nitto No1 or Yoko Advan on 18" wheels.

Old 07-22-2008, 01:25 PM
raiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to beholdraiyu is a splendid one to behold
Im running Toyo R888s, with the OEM sizing. That got rid of the tire squeal that I was hearing in just about every corner. But the more grip you add, the quicker the transition from having control to the tail end coming free.

And with the R888s the car is pretty unsafe in hard rain. Any puddle can make the car aquaplane because there is hardly any tread and the rear tires are so wide. Always a trade off.

Old 07-25-2008, 04:45 AM
Mike R. is infamous around these parts
I've been tracking my '06 997s with street tires (PS2s), but just purchased a set of track wheels and Toyo R888s.
Raiyu - are you driving to and from the track with your R888s?

Old 07-26-2008, 10:17 AM