Helmets: open or closed?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-23-2007, 10:38 PM
roadsterdoc is a splendid one to beholdroadsterdoc is a splendid one to beholdroadsterdoc is a splendid one to beholdroadsterdoc is a splendid one to beholdroadsterdoc is a splendid one to beholdroadsterdoc is a splendid one to beholdroadsterdoc is a splendid one to behold
Helmets: open or closed?

Should I get an open faced or closed helmet? I have been shopping for a SA2005 helmet and have searched the forums. There is a lot of good information but I have not found an answer for this question. The car has an airbag and stock 3-point seatbelts. I do not intend to add a harness anytime in the near future as it is a street car. Also, I wear glasses.

Conventional wisdom says that a closed face helmet offers the most protection, so why the confusion? Well, I have read this type is best used in a car with a harness and without a steering wheel airbag. The logic is that the airbag is designed to hit the face, not a large object such as a helmet and the resulting forces could cause cervical damage. For this reason, open faced helmets are most appropriate if the car has an airbag. Is this really the case? Feedback please!

Old 03-24-2007, 12:36 AM
Secure has much to be proud ofSecure has much to be proud ofSecure has much to be proud ofSecure has much to be proud ofSecure has much to be proud ofSecure has much to be proud ofSecure has much to be proud ofSecure has much to be proud ofSecure has much to be proud of
I really like my open faced helmet due to the extra vision that it allows. That being said, I just bought a closed helmet and await delivery!
As I was told when I bought my first helmet, try them all and buy what is the most comfortable for you.
I have a nice one on ebay right now if you decide that you want an open faced. PM me for details

Old 03-24-2007, 12:44 AM
eMJay1133 is infamous around these partseMJay1133 is infamous around these parts
I say closed